David Gamble


David is the Principal of Gamble Associates and a Lecturer and Design Critic in the Department of Urban Planning and Design at Harvard’s Graduate School of Design. He is the current chair of the AIA’s Regional and Urban Design Committee (2017-2021) and is former co-chair of the Boston Society of Architects (BSA) Urban Design Committee. He has served on the Boards of the BSA and Architecture Boston. He is Past President of the Community-Design Resource Center-Boston and established the Syracuse University Community Design Center as an Assistant Professor. His prior work experience includes Chan Krieger Sieniewicz (now nbbj), Krier&Kohl in Berlin, Germany and vanMerkestyn&Partners in Potsdam, Germany and Zurich, Switzerland. David received a Bachelor’s of Architecture Degree from Kent State University and a Master’s of Architecture in Urban Design, with distinction, from the GSD. He is a recipient of the AIA’s National Young Architects Award and the Gabriel Prize.

David’s research and writing looks at the catalytic effects of urban design and planning projects with a focus on creative implementation strategies to enable redevelopment. Together with Patty Heyda (Washington University) he published “Rebuilding the American City” published by Routledge Press (2016). The book presents five paradigms for redevelopment and a range of perspectives on the complexities, strategies, successes and challenges inherent to rebuilding American cities today. His current research investigates small town redevelopment (“Reinventing the American Town”, Routledge Press, 2021) and he is editing a collection of essays about Boston’s future (UMass Press).


Professional Planner of the Year

2019 American Planning Association, Massachusetts Chapter

Design Guidelines + Standards Manual

Campus & Urban Planning Award, 2015 Boston Society of Architects

Design Guidelines + Standards Manual 

2015 American Planning Association, Massachusetts Chapter

National Young Architects Award 

American Institute of Architects

Gabriel Prize 

Western European Architecture Foundation